Museum On Tour, 9 March 2017: Ropewalks #3 – A fun object handling session

by Joe Woolley, Arts and Heritage Placement

As part of my traineeship at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery I was eager to be involved with as many interesting projects as possible. Luckily for me within the early stages of my traineeship I was offered the chance to be the administrator for the theatrical walking tours project!

The role I was assigned involves me liaising with all the different members of the project team to help organise meetings, collate media and keep everyone up to date with what’s going on with the project while also providing insight on the use of technology within the project.

Although I don’t come from a cultural or history-based background this role was perfect for me. It allows me to utilise my technological background while also helping me to gain valuable experience of administrating a group for the first time.

It’s been an honour to be involved in such a ground-breaking project. The experiences and knowledge I’ve gained from interacting with the other people working on the project as well as the staff from the Museum and Barbican Theatre have been brilliant.

As part of one of our regular weekly meetings we recently had an object handling session which was provided by my colleague Joanne Gray and myself.

Plymouth Museum handling session

This was a great opportunity to give the project members a chance to get their hands on some historical objects and to help inspire ideas.

The items that we had a chance to look at were mainly food and drink based objects with a strong link to Plymouth. They ranged from old records of recipes that were common in Plymouth’s past, to ships biscuits which are a long lasting food source that were once widely used on ships.

Photograph from Plymouth Museum's Rope Walks handling session

As well as being a great way to inspire ideas for the project the handling session was a chance for everyone in the group to discuss the historical context of the items and the functions they had. I love this photo of scriptwriter, Jon Nash below with a basket on his head!

The session was also of great benefit to me as it tested my knowledge of some of the items the Museum has in its handling collection and enabled me to engage with my peers in a really lively and interesting discussion.

Members of Plymouth Museum's Rope Walks team take part in an object handling session

Leave a Reply

